Democratic Candidates Easily Sweep Local Elections

All of the Democratic candidates for local offices easily won their races, as expected, in yesterday’s general election.

With all precincts reporting, incumbent Marc Elrich was reelected with 71.4% of the vote over opponent Reardon “Sully” Sullivan in the race for county executive.

Three incumbent at-large councilmembers, Gabe Albornoz, Evan Glass and Will Jawando, will be joined by a new at-large member, Laurie-Anne Sayles, who replaces term-limited Councilmember Hans Riemer. All four candidates earned about 19% of the vote.

In the District 4 council race, Takoma Park Mayor Kate Stewart easily defeated Cheryl Riley with nearly 85% of the vote versus Riley’s 15%.

Kristin Mink defeated Kate Woody in District 5 by a slightly smaller margin, 78% to 21%. In District 6, Natali Fani-Gonzalez won, 76%-24%, over Viet Doan.

In local races for state Senate seats, all three incumbents—Jeff Waldstreicher in District 18, Ben Kramer in District 19 and Will Smith n District 20—easily won reelection, each getting more than 70% of the votes (Smith was unopposed).

The winners in State Delegate races were:

  • District 18—Aaron Kaufman, Emily Shetty and Jared Solomon
  • District 19—Charlotte Crutchfield, Bonnie Cullison and Vaughan Stewart
  • District 20—Lorig Charkoudian, David Moon and Jheanelle Wilkins were unopposed.

Provisional ballots have not yet been counted but are not expected to change the results.

Photo from

Read More:
MoCo Made Food & Beverage Expo Returns Thursday