County Council Appoints Three New Planning Board Members

The County Council appointed James Hedrick, Mitra Pedoeem and Shawn Bartley to the Planning Board at its meeting Tuesday.

“The Council’s public selection process for Planning Board members has led us to make three key appointments,” said Council President Evan Glass in a press release.

“James Hedrick, Mitra Pedoeem and Shawn Bartley have the combined experience, leadership and listening skills that are necessary to engage with community members and the Council about land use and planning issues,” he continued. “These individuals will play an integral role in establishing a vision for the future of our county.”

The three new appointees will take the place of acting Commissioners Cherri Branson, David Hill and Amy Presley. The council appointed acting commissioners following the mass resignation of all five members of the board last fall.

“The three newly appointed Planning Board members will serve out the unexpired terms of the prior members and are registered voters of the same political party as the prior Planning Board members,” according to the release. “Shawn Bartley will serve as the Republican member until June 14, 2024. Mitra Pedoeem will serve as the unaffiliated member until June 14, 2025. James Hedrick will serve as the Democratic member until June 14, 2026.”

The two additional temporary board positions, along with a new chair, are scheduled to be filled in June. There will be a public notice advertising these positions issued at a later date.

County Executive Marc Elrich must approve or disapprove the Planning Board appointments within 30 days. If he takes no action either way, the appointments are approved.

Montgomery Planning headquarters photo

Your Mastodon Instance