Blair, Elrich in Close Race Again; Other Local Results Look Clearer

While mail-in and provisional ballots have yet to be counted, David Blair and County Executive Marc Elrich are in a close race for the Democratic nomination for county executive.

Blair currently leads by slightly more than 1,000 votes. Hans Riemer is running well behind the top two.

In other local Democratic primaries, with 95% of precincts reporting, the top four candidates for County Council at-large nominations are incumbent Councilmembers Gabe Albornoz, Evan Glass and Will Jawando, followed by Laurie-Anne Sayles. The next two closest candidates, Scott Goldberg and Councilmember Tom Hucker (D-District 5) are roughly 5,500 and 6,500 votes behind, respectively.

The races for nominations for councilmember to represent Districts 4 and 5, which were reconfigured for this election, Kate Stewart leads four other candidates in District 4 with about 45% of the votes counted so far. Kristin Mink has received 40% of the voted in District 5, leading seven other candidates.

Incumbent state Sen. Will C. Smith is leading Enoch Bevel in the District 20 nomination race with approximately 89% of the vote. The district’s current delegates, Lorig Charkoudian, David Moon and Jeanelle Wilkins are cruising to renomination, as their lone opponent, John Walsh, has received just 8% of the votes cast so far.

In the District 8 Democratic race for nomination to Congress, U.S. Rep. Jamie Raskin has gotten nearly 93% of the county’s vote against opponent Andalib Odulate.

Results are current as of 10:47 this morning. Updated numbers from mail-in and provisional vote counts are expected to be announced later today.

Photo from

We are expanding our coverage, and we need your help. Click here for more information.

Sign up for our
Free Email Newsletters!

Stay connected to your community through our free email newsletters!
Emails are delivered daily to our 2,496 subscribers.

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.