Takoma Park Releases Certified Election Results; Incumbents Win

The City of Takoma Park released the certified results of the city election, confirming that all incumbents held on to their seats.

Mayor Kate Stewart turned back a challenge from Roger Schlegel by a vote of 4,083–2,386 with 29 write-in votes.

In the closest council race, Ward 5 incumbent Jarrett Smith defeated Sawa Kamara, 376–212. In Ward 3, Kacy Kostiuk beat Olly Swyers, 1,030–502.

Peter Kovar (Ward 1), Cindy Dyballa (Ward 2), Terry J. Seamens (Ward 4) and Talisha Searcy (Ward 6) ran unopposed, though write-in ballots were recorded in each case (as they were in the other races).

The final meeting of the current City Council will take place today (Nov. 16) at 12:30 p.m. That will be followed by a swearing-in ceremony for the new mayor and council at 1:30 p.m. in front of the Takoma Park Community Center, 7500 Maple Ave.

However, the event will be closed to the public due the pandemic; there are several options for viewing it virtually.

The first meeting of the new City Council will take place at 7:30 p.m. on Wednesday, Nov. 18.

Photo from pixabay.com

We are expanding our coverage, and we need your help. Click here for more information.

Read More:
Takoma Park Library, Computer Center to Close This Month for Renovations

Sign up for our
Free Email Newsletters!

Stay connected to your community through our free email newsletters!
Emails are delivered daily to our 2,463 subscribers.

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.