Incumbents Leading in Takoma Park Mayoral, Council Races

Incumbent Takoma Park Mayor Kate Stewart and all six current city council members are leading in races to keep their seats, according to preliminary results posted last night.

Stewart was leading challenger Roger Schlegel by a vote of 2,912 to 1,561 with 18 write-in votes.

In Ward 3, Kacy Kostiuk was ahead of Olly Swyers, 708–351 with four write-ins.

In the only other race with two candidates, incumbent Jarrett Smith was leading Sawa Kamara for the Ward 5 seat, 241-149 (one write-in).

Peter Kovar (Ward 1), Cindy Dyballa (Ward 2), Terry J. Seamens (Ward 4) and Talisha Searcy (Ward 6) ran unopposed, though write-in ballots were recorded in each case.

Mail-in ballots postmarked by or on Nov. 3 may arrive up until Nov. 10 and be counted. Final results will be available after the Board of Elections certifies results on Nov. 12.

Photo from

We are expanding our coverage, and we need your help. Click here for more information.

Read More:
HouseMouse Books & Vintage to Open Friday in Takoma Park

Sign up for our
Free Email Newsletters!

Stay connected to your community through our free email newsletters!
Emails are delivered daily to our 2,497 subscribers.

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.