Elrich Names Department Heads; Navarro Elected Council President

County Executive Marc Elrich has nominated three people to serve in his administration and will keep eight department heads from the Leggett administration, according to announcements from his office.

As expected, Indian Spring resident Andrew Kleine, former Baltimore budget director, has been nominated to serve as chief administrative officer.

The CAO supervises the county’s departments and oversees day-to-day operations of the government.

“I am honored to be Marc’s nominee for Chief Administrative Officer,” said Kleine said in a press release. “I have been a resident of Montgomery County for half of my life, and I’m excited to get to work helping lead county government at a time of great change and opportunity.”

Elrich also nominated former state Sen. Rich Madaleno to be head of the Office of Management and Budget. Madaleno served the 18thDistrict as both a delegate and state senator before running for governor in the Democratic primary earlier this year.

Robin Riley, who has served as recreation division chief of the county’s recreation department since 2004, was named to head that department. The previous head, Gabe Albornoz, is now an at-large council member.

All three appointments must be approved by the County Council, which is scheduled to start that process Dec. 11.

In a separate announcement, Elrich said he would retain the following department heads:

  • Robert “Bob” Dorfman – Liquor Control
  • Alex Espinosa – Finance
  • Eric Friedman – Consumer Protection
  • Scott Goldstein – Fire and Rescue Service
  • Robert Green – Correction and Rehabilitation
  • Thomas Manger – Police
  • Al Roshdieh – Transportation, and
  • Melanie Wenger – Intergovernmental Relations.

Elrich also said he has asked several department heads to serve on an interim basis, and will conduct national searches to fill some positions.

In other county government news, during the first meeting of the 19th County Council, council members elected Councilmember Nancy Navarro (D-District 4) as president and Councilmember Sidney Katz (D-District 3) vice president. Each will serve a one-year term.

Navarro also announced committee assignments for the new council:

Planning, Housing, and Economic Development Committee

  • Hans Riemer, Chair
  • Andrew Friedson
  • Will Jawando

Transportation & Environment Committee

  • Tom Hucker, Chair
  • Hans Riemer
  • Evan Glass

Government Operations & Fiscal Policy Committee

  • Nancy Navarro, Chair
  • Andrew Friedson
  • Sidney Katz

Health & Human Services Committee

  • Gabe Albornoz, Chair
  • Evan Glass
  • Craig Rice

Education & Culture Committee

  • Craig Rice, Chair
  • Will Jawando
  • Nancy Navarro

Public Safety Committee

  • Sidney Katz, Chair
  • Gabe Albornoz
  • Tom Hucker

Photo of Andrew Kleine courtesy of Kleine and Rowman & Littlefield Publishers.

We are expanding our coverage, and we need your help. Click here for more information.

Read More:
County Launches Preregistration Survey for Monkeypox Vaccine

Sign up for our
Free Email Newsletters!

Stay connected to your community through our free email newsletters!
Emails are delivered daily to our 2,457 subscribers.

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.